making learning fun...

early years foundation stage


7 areas

About the eyfs

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

At Totally Kidz Day Nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which was revised in March 2017. This covers children’s development and learning from birth to 5 years. The EYFS is designed to deliver improved outcomes for all children, across every area of learning and development.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?
The EYFS is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born their early years experiences should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure to support their learning and development.

EYFS sets out:

  • The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements which are the legal aspects that Kids 1st must adhere to, to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.
  • The 7 areas of learning and development.
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals”.
  • The numbers of staff required in our nurseries.
  • How many children we can care for in the building.
  • how we administer medicines and carry out risk assessments.

At Totally Kidz Day Nursery your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the 7 areas of learning and development. We develop the 3 prime areas first as those are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As your child grows, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We use these 7 areas to plan your child’s learning and activities.

What happens when your child reaches the age of 2?
After your child has turned 2 we will review your child’s progress against the 3 prime areas of learning and provide you with a written summary. This progress check at age 2 will highlight where your child is progressing well and anywhere they might need some extra help or support. We will also share relevant information with your health visitor and any other professionals involved in your child’s care at that time. For your convenience, the health visitor’s check can be carried out in the nursery and your child’s nursery progress report can be shared with them at this time. Your child’s key person will work closely with you and other family members to share ideas and offer support about your child’s ongoing development.

For further information about EYFS and Ofsted please follow these links:
Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
Ofsted and EYFS

“Happiness is the art of never holding in your mind the memory of any unpleasant thing that has passed.”

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.